Good, Better, Best

I once heard a little saying that goes, “Good, Better, Best, never let it rest, until your Good is Better and your Better is Best.” That saying has stuck with me and come to my mind at many different times in my life. Obviously in my day to day life, whether it be for work purposes, school purposes, or even in my day to day duties, this saying has application. But I found this saying to ring true and apply in another “odd” way too- the will of God.

A couple years ago, I found myself at a crossroad. This crossroad was labeled “God’s will for my life.” Since I gave Jesus my heart, life, and soul, I have strived to do His will in everything. I have gone some odd places in this short life of mine attempting to follow God’s will. A couple years ago, I found myself in a “good” spot. If I continued on the path that I was on, I was certain that my life would bring glory to God. And that is what life is all about. But I began to wonder- or shall I say allow myself to wonder- if there wasn’t something else I should be doing that would use my God given gifts to bring more glory to Christ. I felt as if perhaps, although I was in a “good” spot, if a leap of faith, and I truly mean a frightening leap, would throw me into the path of God’s “better” for my life.

Nevertheless, I took the plunge into what I believed, and still stand by was God’s “better” for my life. I did this despite most people around me firmly believing that this decision was not God’s “better” for my life. This decision has changed my life. This decision has forever changed my life for the “better.”

But life is a journey. Please notice the fact that I have not mentioned “best” yet. This is because “better” can be achieved, but “best,” well, that is something to always be strived for! God has a “best” for everyone, but I believe that when we achieve that, or if we achieve that, it soon disappears and a new goal comes to light. This is of course, until we get to heaven and “best” is no longer an accurate description.

So you are probably wondering why I wrote this. I know I am. Perhaps this is why. Perhaps where you are in your life, there is a crossroad. Maybe you are at a “good” spot, and you fear that leaving that “good” spot for something that could prove to be “better” is not a wise decision. Perhaps you are scared of the unknown. IF you BELIEVE that God has something better for you…. DON’T JUST SETTLE FOR “GOOD”!

