The Best Thing That Has Ever Happened to Me

The Lord has been so good to me. My mom was not really raised in a Christian home, but by God’s grace I have had the privilege to be. When my mom started faithfully going to church, we were not fully committed to Christ as a family. God’s way is perfect, though, and He kept leading our tiny family. We really only went to church on Sunday mornings up until I was in about third grade then we became fully involved. Nevertheless, even while we were not really involved in church, I always grew up knowing about the Lord and His marvelous salvation.

One day, while driving down the road, my mom, sister and I were talking about salvation. I was about eight years old. That day I asked the Lord to come into my life and save me. I believe that I was saved that day. However, later in my life, I started having doubts. During the summer that I was thirteen years old, I began to question my salvation. I was tired of the doubts, and wanted to settle it in my heart once and for all. One day I was home by myself sitting on my couch doing my devotions, and I decided to take care of the problem. I took a tract and then and there went over the plan of salvation. I realized that without accepting His sacrifice on the cross, I was doomed to hell. He loved me enough to die for me, so I accepted his grace. I got on my knees by that couch and asked the Lord to come into my heart and save me from my sins. I received assurance of my salvation that day. No one can ever take that away from me.

I seek to follow the Lord in everything that I do since that day. This has taken me some crazy places, but through it all God has been good. Because my salvation is only dependent on His grace, and nothing I do can change that, I strive to follow Him. He has done so much for me, it is the least that I can do for Him.

