The practicality of Pinterest

It’s like a giant corkboard for creative ideas. It has become one of the leading “social media” venues. But do people actually use this platform called Pinterest to create or is it simply used for mere entertainment?

Apparently some people’s creative genius is aided by it.

Pinterest was created in March 2010 by Paul Sciarra, Evan Sharp and Ben Silbermann. It now exceeds 70 million users.

“We do a lot of crafts with the kids,” Carolyn Massengale, UC alumni said. As of Oct. 25, she had 2,490 pins spread across 51 boards. .

Massengale who home schools her children uses Pinterest to get and organize teaching ideas.

“Since we home school we’ve gotten a lot of ideas,” Massengale shared. “You can print out a worksheet where you can trace letters. There’s one where you can print out whatever you want written. Like you type a word or a sentence and it can fit on a sheet where they can trace it and rewrite it as well. They have handwriting practice.”

Pinterest even allows her children to interact with some of their favorite characters. She spoke about Disney’s “Frozen” and Angry Birds now playing a role in her curriculum thanks to Pinterest.

However, not all of the ideas that Pinterest provided were successful. In her home school co-op class, her group of 3-5 year olds attempted to make music but came out with a mess.

“We were making musical shakers,” she said. “You take a toilet paper roll and cupcake wrappers and you put beans inside and you put the wrappers on the ends with the rubber bands. Those kids got the shakers and within five seconds the beans were everywhere. Did not hold for a second.”

Nuithia Davis, former teacher at Shennandoah Baptist Academy in Cleveland, Tn. is also an avid pinner and crafter said, “I got a Pinterest account because I knew I was going to be teaching, and I wanted to get as many ideas as I could for my classroom.”

“I got more ideas from Pinterest than I did anywhere else,” Davis shared. “I knew because I had never taught before that if I had gleaned from other teachers who had more experience on how to make learning more fun that it would make my life easier.

“I could use other people’s ideas and just expound on them,” Davis continued.

Davis, like Massengale, uses Pinterest for much more than teaching.

“Once upon a time if you were to look for a recipe you would type it in and you would have to Google search it. You would have to find out which one and you would have to write it down,” she said.

Davis added, “But this way all I have to do is pin it and put it under recipes and click on it when I need it. Every time I’ve made something and needed a recipe all I have to do is go under my recipes and click it instead of having to look it up every time.”

Massengale however, apart from cake decorations does not find Pinterest a profitable tool in the kitchen.

“I have used it some for recipes,” Massengale said.  “I try to stay off Pinterest for recipes though. A lot of times when you click on a picture it doesn’t take you to the recipe.”

“Also it’s better to go on allrecepies.com where you can look at reviews and see how people have switched it up instead of Pinterest where it’s just one person’s idea,” Massengale mentioned.

Davis added, “From Pinterest I have made everything from dresses for my nieces to recepies to centerpieces for events that I decorated for to tables that I have sold at antique stores.”

“I think everybody should have a Pinterest because I think if you’re not one of those people that has creative ideas on your own it makes a huge difference to get inspiration from other people who do,” Davis shared. Additionally, she adds her own ideas to the world of Pinterest for others to profit from.

Massengale concluded, “I think it’s a great idea. I really like that I have someplace to put all my ideas so I don’t lose all those websites. Sometimes I pin stuff that I already knew about. I find that website and I pin that website so I don’t lose it.”

