Her and Me

Her hair is flat.

It is always brushed.

The highlights seem to

never grow out.

Her smile is contagious.

It is always bright.

The room lights up

when she’s present.

Her personality is encouraging.

It is always giving.

The world could use

more like her.

Her make-up is pristine.

It is always pretty.

The way it never

smears is magic.

Her life is orderly.

It is always together.

The methods she lives

by astound me.

And she is perfect.

Not me. My hair lives in a chaotic state – kind of like my life. My make-up doesn’t even exist. Who has time for that? Well, maybe I would if I could get my life together. My car is a disaster. McDonald’s bags fill the floor board. My room is scattered with books and laundry and papers. And although I smile, the gap in my teeth is a reminder of my flaws.

So I am a mess.

